Resources for Second Life

Useful websites for Second Life
Articles about Second Life

Useful websites for Second Life

Second Life website
(Users should set up an account; then download the sofware.)
http://www.secondlife.com
Sloodle Virtual environment learning system http://www.sloodle.org/
Introductory video A campus tour in Second Life http://chronicle.com/media/video/v53/i37/secondlife/
New Citizens, Inc. orientation for newcomers http://slurl.com/secondlife/Kuula/54/175/29/?title=New%20Citizens%20Inc
Second Life Tree

Language communities in Second Life

http://www.sltree.com/communities/languages/
Annotated bibliography of Second Life educational online resources by Mark Pepper http://web.ics.purdue.edu/~mpepper/slbib
Best Practices Using Second Life for Real World Education Presentation in Flickr http://flickr.com/photos/holymeatballs/sets/72157601198270790/
A Tour of EduNation ll Video tour of an island devoted to education http://www.vimeo.com/356342
Second Life Cable Network archives of live events as they happened in Second Life http://slcn.tv
Voice in Second Life
Voice FAQ for Second Life documentation from Second Life https://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Voice_FAQ
Using Second Life Voice How to set up and use the Second Life Voice features. http://youtube.com/watch?v=7ViOXg2WUoo
Companies in Second Life
Avatar Languages Learn languages inside SL http://www.avatarlanguages.com/
Languagelab.com Learn languages inside SL http://www.languagelab.com/


TOP

Articles about Second Life

Second Life in Education and Language Learning by Vance Stevens http://tesl-ej.org/ej39/int.html
Second Life and Language Learning discussions - part 1 by Graham Stanley http://blog-efl.blogspot.com/2007/04/second-life-and-language-learning.html
Second Life and Language Learning discussions - part 2 by Graham Stanley http://blog-efl.blogspot.com/2007/05/second-life-and-language-learning.html
Teaching English in Second Life by Nik Peachey http://nikpeachey.blogspot.com/2007/08/teaching-english-in-second-life.html
Materials design for Virtual Worlds by Nik Peachey http://nikpeachey.blogspot.com/2007/06/materials-design-for-virtual-worlds.html
Even in a Virtual World, ‘Stuff’ Matters by Shira Boss http://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/09/business/yourmoney/09second.html?_r=3&oref=slogin&oref=slogin
MIT and Princeton Face Off in Second Life Chronicle of Higher Education http://chronicle.com/wiredcampus/index.php?id=2423?=atwc
Colleges Are Building in Second Life, but Is Anyone Visiting? Chronicle of Higher Education http://chronicle.com/wiredcampus/index.php?id=2307?=atwc
Second Life Sucks "Something Awful" blog http://www.somethingawful.com/d/second-life-safari/second-life-sucks.php
Virtual worlds opened up to all BBC News http://newsvote.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/7002479.stm
SLurl: Location-based thinking in Second Life how SLurls work http://slurl.com/secondlife/Arts%20and%20Letters/43/136/707
Educational Uses of Second Life Wiki about Second Life http://sleducation.wikispaces.com/educationaluses
Educators Are Split About the Viability of Second Life Chronicle of Higher Education http://chronicle.com/wiredcampus/index.php?id=2434?=atwc
Thought-Controlled Avatars Emerge in Second Life Chronicle of Higher Education http://chronicle.com/wiredcampus/article/2454/thought-controlled-avatars-emerge-in-second-life?at
Educators Get New Spot for Second Life Initiation Chronicle of Higher Education http://chronicle.com/wiredcampus/article/2459/educators-get-new-spot-for-second-life-initiation?at

TOP


Last revised: March 6, 2008